CTBA Meeting January 13, 2019

Board Members

Present Michael Harberg Dennis Lloyd Ludiker David McDonald Hunter Hollingsworth Libby Mayfield Kristopher Lee Wade

Absent

Ed Seykoda Sammy Sanchez Noah Jeffries Jon Lundbom

The meeting was called to order by Michael at 4:23 PM. The meeting was adjourned by Michael at 5:38 PM. The next meeting is tentatively scheduled for February 10th. Location TBD

Old Business

Reviewed 2018 Treasurer's report/ calendar and merchandise sales reports presented by Lenny Nichols. Michael made the motion to approve the reports. Hunter seconded the motion. All approved

Garage Sale and Bluegrass Jam continues to be the highest grossing event of the year

Review minutes presented by Cheryl Waggoner from December 2018 meeting. Michael made a motion to approve the minutes. Hunter seconded the motion. All Approved

New Business

Old Settler's

Possible sponsorship for 2019.

How can the CTBA impact the addition of more bluegrass in the lineup and what kind of presence can we have at the festival?

In 2018 CTBA sponsored Old Settler's for \$750 which included four day passes and the opportunity to provide handouts during Bluegrass sets

Presence on Social Media

"Social Media" pertains to Facebook, the CTBA Facebook page and instagram

Michael does not have access to the Twitter account but would like to as an additional presence

MUSX is another alternative which is led by Michael

Michael continues to update the FB page with current posts about events

Ensure that everyone is adding Central Texas Bluegrass as a host whenever they are posting about events they or their band(s) are participating in

Priorities for 2019

Continue cultivating the experience of bringing and teaching bluegrass to the youth of Central Texas

Blazier Elementary crash course with four elementary classes was a success. We would love to continue building the Bluegrass in the Schools program

Kicking off Kids Grass Jam on the 3rd Saturday of the month with Mr Will at St Elmo Brewing Company from 11:30-1:30. The event will take place through April to see what turnout is like.

CTBA Scholarship deadline is May 1st and open to applicants 12-21 years old. Groundwork Music Orchestra would be an option to find potential recipients. 2018 recipients were Jackson Wreden and Riley Gilbreth.

CTBA Board Notes

Meet once a month for one hour each when and if necessary. Target is for the 2nd Sunday of the moth.

We would like to ensure that the time and date are set to make sure the general public can be involved in the meetings as well

Meet at a rotating location that supports local bluegrass and which the CTBA supports through music/ sponsorship or community

We discussed the roles of Chair positions, those that are filled and those that need to be filled. We currently have four Chair positions all which were presented by Michael, seconded by Hunter and approved by all.

*Scholarship Chair- Tentatively filled by Leslie Collier * Membership Chair- Currently filled by Jason Pratt as the Interim but Micah Motenko's name came up when discussing permanent Chair members

*Social Chair- filled by Michael

*Newsletter Chair- Michael will be the Interim until we can find a permanent chair. The Board approves paying the Newsletter editor a stipend of \$50 per month.

Merchandise was a big topic of discussion including the creation of a committee. The biggest points are allocating more of the budget to new merchandise designed by local artists and storage.

Two of the most popular designs are "Mona Lisa Banjo" (sold out) and the "Earl" tee. Some members discussed "Grass to the People" shirts to be released for Memorial Fest.

Motions

All motions were presented by Michael Harberg and seconded by Hunter Hollingsworth. All Motions were approved by the Board as a maiority.

-Does the Board approve to pay Emily Isbell (Empathy Art) \$100 for her artwork to create the Kid Grass Jam poster? -Does the Board accept Kristopher Lee Wade as a board member of CTBA?

OFFICERS President: Michael Harberg Vice President: Michael Halberg Vice President: Dennis Lloyd Ludiker Secretary: Libby Mayfield Treasurer: Kristopher Lee Wade